Lost in Wonder

Today was a strange day. I woke up as usual and started my morning routine. I did my Bible study  and drank my morning coffee. I fed the cat and went to get dressed.

I sat on my bed and felt suddenly sleepy. I lay down and slept almost straight away, and I dreamt.

Washing in and out of sleep became waves and I was under the waves desperate for air. The waves were deep blue like the Mediterranean.

waves

(Photo credit: crashoverreason)

I looked up at the surface of the water and saw a buoy. I reached for it and was pulled out of the water. I looked around for a boat to save me. The buoy barely holding me out of the water, I was still alternately under the waves and then in the air, pulling in oxygen.

But before I knew it I was washing up on the shore instead. As I lay palms down on the sand gasping for air I knew he was coming.

I didn’t see him. I had the impression of feet approaching. I saw my hands and the sand. I didn’t dare look up. He was still far when something hit me so strong I could hardly bear it.

Sheer wonder as he walked past. My heart felt like it would burst. It was almost pain. Too real to bear. Sheer wonder and fear and joy. I couldn’t have bourne it for more than the few seconds. If he had looked at me, I have the impression I might have never woken up.

I did wake up, my heart pounding. Exhilarated.

Just being near him on the beach in the safety of a dream was almost unbearable.

How will it be when we are face to face?

The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it,
the world, and all who live in it;
for he founded it on the seas
and established it on the waters.

Who may ascend the mountain of the Lord?
Who may stand in his holy place?
Those who have clean hands and a pure heart…

Psalm 24:1-4

 

Tagged ,

What do you think? Reply here

