Finally willing to talk

...Hope...

…Hope… (Photo credit: ĐāżŦ {mostly absent})

For the first time in a long time I have hope.

Hope that experiences like the one I had with the Evangelical church are getting fewer and further between.

Hope that people of differing opinions can indeed come together in love.

Hope that Christ’s church will finally extend Christ’s grace to all people.

This week I have been overwhelmed by various sources that seem to me to indicate a paradigm shift in the way churches understand, and minister to, LGBT people. First I saw Registered Runaway‘s posts (start here) about ongoing dialogue happening within his church around including LGBT people.

Then I read Jordan at gaysubtlety‘s letter to his Pastor, who modelled love and grace to him rather than rejecting him over his sexuality.

Finally, I heard Steve Chalke aired live on Christian radio explaining why he wrote this article calling for inclusion for LGBT people in Evangelical churches. With some trepidation I browsed #MOI (Matter of Integrity) on Twitter and saw, for the most part, that people of differing views were able to be civil to each other and seemed eager to enter into dialogue rather than heated debate.

People haven’t changed their minds, but they have become willing to talk about it.

Talking is good. We don’t have to agree with each other on homosexuality but we can offer each other compassion and pray we will truly listen to our brothers and sisters.

Today I had hope as I remembered Christ’s words:

“I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me—you did it to me.”

Matt 25:40

More posts on Middle Ground about Sexuality:
The Celibacy Question
“Gay Cures” – Were LGBT Activists Right About Desert Stream?
Coming Out…or Not
Proud of Pride?

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Finally willing to talk

  1. annebrooke says:

    It’s giving me hope too – and I pray very much that this God-given shift of thought will continue to move and grow.

  2. Karen says:

    I’ve always been a believer in the fact that it would get nastier and darker before it got better. Which is what’s happening.
    I think it’s a great parable to use, and I wish some of the Christians who are so quick to hate and condemn would remember these words of Christ.

  3. […] range of responses and so I could go on. Charlotte Norton summed up the significance well in this post when she […]

What do you think? Reply here

